Me and Kieran went on a little adventure  along with my mum to Lanhydrock House (no idea how to pronounce that) in Cornwall, and it was gorgeous. The walk up to the house and grounds went through the most beautiful bluebell wood *I love bluebell woods*:

FullSizeRender 17

and yes I have just discovered I have filters on my phone:

FullSizeRender 16

Here’s Kieran enjoying the bluebells in a picturesque pose:

Followed by me in the bluebells:

FullSizeRender 18.jpg 

aaaand then a picture my mum tried to get of both me and Kieran in the bluebells and instead looking as though she’s creepily papped us:

IMG_3055.JPG

Basically it took us a long time to get out of the bluebells.

Anyway, we were lucky enough to actually get some sun (rare for Cornwall) and eventually made it to the house and grounds, which were stunning, kind of a cross between ‘Alice in Wonderland’: 

IMG_2994

and ‘Narnia’:

Don’t know what it is, but something about these little vase-things:

FullSizeRender 21.jpg

is just kind of reminiscent of that whole snow-sleigh-castle-sell-your-family-out-for-Turkish-delight sort of thing. I love going places like these historical houses; I just think it’s so interesting trying to imagine what it was like to live there in the time it was built. It’s fascinating seeing how they managed without all of the appliances we need nowadays- this house had about 6 different rooms in the kitchen area to prepare food, and had ice imported from Plymouth to store with the food to keep it cool, importing more whenever it melted. I love trying to picture what they did for amusement; as far as I could tell, the men went hunting and smoking, and the children had some creepy looking dolls (there were 9 children in the house at one point, that’s a lot of creepy dolls) and the women spent their days relocating from the breakfast room to their morning office to the family room. I couldn’t get a good picture of the front of the house because there were so many people wandering about, and by the time they left it was pretty dark:

FullSizeRender 21.jpg

But it had this awesome little gatehouse which I have want to claim as my new home:

FullSizeRender 22.jpg

In movies like ‘The Young Victoria’ and ‘The Duchess’ they always show people riding dramatically around and having sweeping declarations of love in pretty ball-gowns but it’s so much easier to imagine in houses like this, especially with these views:

FullSizeRender 11.jpg

 

It was a really breathtakingly beautiful place.

(flowers ft. Kieran’s feet) They had activities for kids, where you find all the animals around the house on a checklist and all the wooden trains, and because me and Kieran are both almost 21 and therefore almost adults, we of course did both of these, practically trampling all the families and children to get there first. I’m proud of us. Anyways, this house was a great day out and so much fun and beautiful, and I’d definitely recommend if you’re ever in the area!

 

FullSizeRender 10 14.21.20.jpg

gold-star[1]gold-star[1]gold-star[1]gold-star[1]gold-star[1]

 

Leave a Reply

