So it’s coming to the end of my third year of Uni, and instead of freaking myself out because I’m still not sure how to answer people who insist on asking me what job I want to do (please don’t scare people about to graduate like that) instead I’m looking on the positive side & making a list of the books I’m going to read when I have the time. I always have a list of “for fun” books that I can relax with after my “for work” books, although actually this term they’ve kind of overlapped, which is quite nice. Anyways, here it be:

img_4662

I’m so excited about this one. It’s got amazing reviews, and although the first lines of its Amazon blurb is the not-very reassuring: ‘It’s the year 2044, and the real world has become an ugly place. We’re out of oil. We’ve wrecked the climate. Famine, poverty, and disease are widespread’
I haven’t seen a book with such an ambitious premise in ages, and that’s saying something as I normally adore every book I come across. It’s basically about a massive, pure escapism virtual reality game, within which are easter eggs leading to a massive cash prize. With the blurb ending ‘Suddenly, he finds himself pitted against thousands of competitors in a desperate race to claim the ultimate prize, a chase that soon takes on terrifying real-world dimensions – and that will leave both Wade and his world profoundly changed’, it sounds like a mix of sci-fi, detective and adventure, so basically AWESOME. Plus, apparently it’s going to be a movie next year, and since I always tell myself that I am able to remember the books I want to read before they’re movies, and never do, this one is GOING ON THE LIST.

img_4663

Couldn’t be more different, but since I’m quickly becoming Jane-Austen-obsessed, I’m loving anything related to it. Plus, I really like that it’s 200 years later and people are still finding so much to do with her material. I don’t know if there’s anything else out there from Lydia’s perspective, but I’ve never seen anything else, so I’m really excited about this one too. About all of them really. All books. All the time. Always. Anyway, the Amazon blurb: ‘Lydia is the youngest Bennet sister and she’s sick of country life – instead of sewing and reading, she longs for adventure. When a red-coated garrison arrives in Merryton, Lydia’s life turns upside down. As she falls for dashing Wickham, she’s swept into a whirlwind social circle and deposited in a seaside town, Brighton. Sea-bathing, promenades and scandal await – and a pair of intriguing siblings. Can Lydia find out what she really wants – and can she get it?’
Aimed at different age range, different audience, different interests, but it’s still going on the list!

TttttHHHHHhhhiiiIIIsss
I cannot wait to read this one. This has been on my list for AGES, and I know, you should never judge a book by its cover, but I did, and it’s beautiful. Seriously:

img_4664

it shines and everything. (By the way, does anyone else spell “beautiful” the Bruce Almighty way? B-E-A-U-tiful!) Anyway. Continuing. The Amazon blurb: ‘Snow White, Cinderella and Sleeping Beauty – stories you love, and that we all think we know . . . but what about the secrets hidden within them? Why would a prince fall in love with a woman in a coffin? Why would a queen try so hard to poison her step-daughter? And what is a fairy Godmother’s real motivation? Turn the page, and discover these classic fairy stories, told the way they always should have been . . .’ No more important reason for this one other than that I’m a sucker for fairytales. I love ’em. Pretty cover, fairytales, magic, check check check. ON THE LIST. Moving on:

img_4666

AAAAAAAAGHHHH
I had it in my head that he’d insisted he wasn’t doing another book; even if that was true I wouldn’t even be mad that he lied because OH MY GOD
The ‘His Dark Materials’ trilogy blew my mind and they’re long overdue for a re-read, and now I have an extra reason because 19th October yaaaaaay
The Amazon blurb offers nothing more than ‘Philip Pullman returns to the world of His Dark Materials with this magnificent new novel, set ten years before Northern Lights and featuring his much-loved character, Lyra Belacqua’ so all secrecy, hush hush and so on, but it could literally just be Lyra watching paint dry and I’d read it happily.

Anyways, that is my list of books that I cannot wait to read, hope you enjoy and if anyone has any suggestions then please share!

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “To-do-reading list

  1. Trust me, that question doesn’t stop being asked after you graduate; you just learn how to divert it better haha. Ready Player One is a really good book that has its problems but is a very enjoyable read. One of the best parts of graduating for me was being able to read what I wanted for fun, so that’s something to look forward to!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha I hope I can learn to too! I’ve heard nothing but good things about Ready Player One, Im so excited to try it. That’s so good to hear, I can’t wait to finally get round to all the books piling up on my list!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

